Pilot operation

More than 1,000 external persons registered for the pilot operation and extensively tested the platform and its functions.

In spring 2014 the pilot operation of smile started. In three phases the user-base was continuously expanded. The kick off was on May 8th when all project members were able to download and test the smile app. From the first days on everybody was using smile as much as possible to provide feedback to our technical team to improve the app step by step in regular iterations.

For the second phase which started on July 7th, 2014 employees from our mobility partners were also enabled to download and test the app. This was done to prepare the team step by step for the external go-live. It was also in this phase when the smile support including a hotline for all users started to provide assistance and to collect feedback. Again – the feedback was then implemented in the app as much as possible.

On November 12th, 2014 the external pilot operation started. From this point on the smile app was available on the Google Play Store. However, only registered pilot users were able to use the app. Over 1,000 people then tested the smile app in the following months. An outstanding amount of feedback was collected and again our goal was to implement as many features as possible. The feedback was great with a rating of 4.79 out of 5 on the PlayStore. Any disruptions were dealt with as soon as possible to minimize any outages. In an additional release to the extensive feedback a new version was released in the middle of February considering as many user requests as possible.

Generally all mobility offers were bookable and payable. However, a few offers required memberships with the mobility providers. Over € 4,200 were spent by the pilot users for 40 taxi rides, 434 Wiener Linien tickets and 261 ÖBB tickets. Nearly eighty times a car2go was booked via smile.

Positive feedback of smile users (translated):
„I like that the last and most used stations are shown :)“
„Hi, dear smile team – this app is on the top of my list“
„I am using more and more features and I am thrilled“
„Great app! The calculation of my first route is great. The comparison of routes is done nicely. Thumbs up!“
„Including longer footwalks is great – especially for days with nice weather“
„I like the color scheme of the columns: green for foot walk, yellow for cabs“
„Great App. Thanks“
„Till now I think it is a great app“
„Works fine with planning daily routes“
„Buying time tickets – simple, two clicks and done. Great!“
„Tickets and registrations work smoothly“
„Outstanding job. Great app. Chapeau“

Facts
Over 1,200 external registrations
Over 1,000 pilot users activated
Over 600 downloads in Google PlayStore
Rating of 4.79/5 in Google PlayStore
Over 450 requests in Customer Care

 

The results of the pilot user survey

The most important result upfront: smile increases the usage of sharing offers and e-mobility and reduces the usage of private cars. Also, 75% of the respondents were very content or content with the app.

The evaluation of the pilot operation was a major part of the research project. The online evaluation was conducted in 2015 by the Institute for Transportation Science of the Technical University of Vienna. Roughly 17% of the pilot users took part in the survey which is a fairly representative sample.

The majority of the smile pilot users is male (78%), from Vienna (81%), between 20 and 40 years old and has a university or a university of applied sciences degree (53%). Therefore the pilot users are not representative for the Viennese population but they match the gender- and age distribution for early adopters in this area.

Modes of transportation – ownership and usage
77% of the respondents own a bicycle, 59% own a car, 7% an e-bike and 2% own an e-car. The share in yearly tickets is very high with 84% having one from Wiener Linien. 49% are holders of discount cards for ÖBB.

The smile pilot users intensively use public transportation (86% daily to several times a week). 30% drive in their car daily to several times a week, 27% ride the bicycle. 51% of the respondents also used carsharing offers (mostly Car2Go, zipcar and Drive Now) and bikesharing offers (mostly City Bike Vienna – 34%) regularly.

Usage of smile
During the pilot operation 6% used smile daily and 30% several times a week. Mostly the app was used to run private errands (64%), leisure time routes (59%) and on routes where well known transportation providers operate (45%).

When choosing the means of transportation the pilot users preferred to be shown the public transportation routes (80% metro, 77% tram). Also carsharing (21% Car sharing, 7% e-Car sharing) and bike sharing offers (10% bike sharing and 5% e-bike sharing) raised interest.

Smile increased intermodality
Smile increased the intermodality of pilot users. 26% confirmed an increased use of public transport in combination with their private cars. 20% combined public transport and riding a bicycle more often. Mostly shared bikes (68%) and private bikes (51%) were combined with public transportation, followed by private car (51%), carsharing (49%), e-carsharing (8% and e-bike sharing (5%).

The main motivation for the increase in combinations of public transportation and car / bike is the quicker alternative smile suggested (69%/ 74%).

Changes in transportation choices
The usage of smile led to changes in the choice which mode of transport to use. 48% respondents increased usage of public transportation (urban PT 26%, regional PT 22%). 10% increased the use of bikesharing offers while 4% increased the usage of e-carsharing as well as another 4% increased the usasge of e-bike/pedelec. 21% of the surveyed pilot users stated to have reduced the usage of their private car.

A mobility platform like smile therefore increases the usage of sharing offers and e-mobility and at the same time reduces the occasions when private cars are used.

Alternative Routes:
Over two thirds of the respondents tried new routes with smile. Mostly it was alternatives by choosing different modes of transport (47%) or new combinations of them (24%). 37% used more efficient, 21% more attractive and 17% more environmental friendly routes.

This shows that a mobility platform like smile can support breaking mobility routines and increase usage of alternatives.

Der Pilotbetrieb

Ein Jahr dauerte der mehrstufige, intensive Praxistest der smile Plattform, an dem über 1.000 externe Personen beteiligt waren.

Im Frühjahr 2014 startete der Pilotbetrieb der smile Mobilitätsplattform. In drei Phasen wurde der NutzerInnenkreis stufenweise ausgeweitet. Der Startschuss zu den ersten Gehversuchen des smile Prototyps fiel am 8. Mai 2014. Ab diesem Zeitpunkt konnten alle ProjektmitarbeiterInnen die smile App herunterladen und waren von nun an fleißig am Testen. Hier ging es darum, möglichst viel Feedback an unsere technischen Partner und Entwickler weiterzuleiten und die Entwicklung der App in regelmäßigen Iterationszyklen voranzutreiben.

Für die zweite Pilotphase ab 7. Juli 2014 wurde der NutzerInnen-Kreis auf die MitarbeiterInnen unsere Mobilitätspartner ausgeweitet, um schrittweise auf das externe Go-Live vorzubereiten. In dieser Pilotphase startete das smile Support Center mit der Telefon-Hotline für AnwenderInnen-Unterstützung und Feedback. Dieses wurde, wie auch schon in der ersten Pilotphase, wiederum in die App eingearbeitet.

Am 12. November 2014 fiel dann der Startschuss zum externen Pilotbetrieb. Die smile App war ab diesem Zeitpunkt über den Google PlayStore verfügbar. Nutzen konnten die App allerdings nur PilotuserInnen, die zuvor den Anmeldeprozess durchlaufen hatten. Über 1.000 PilotuserInnen testeten in den folgenden Monaten intensiv App und Mobilitätsplattform und lieferten umfangreiche Rückmeldungen. Es kam viel positives Feedback und ein Play-Store Rating von 4,79 von 5. Störungen wurden so schnell als möglich behoben, Verbesserungsvorschläge wenn möglich in einem zusätzlichen Release Mitte Februar 2015 berücksichtigt.

Grundsätzlich konnten alle Mobilitätsangebote gebucht und bezahlt werden, einige Angebote erforderten allerdings eine entsprechende Mitgliedschaft. Über 4.200 Euro haben die PilotuserInnen bezahlt für 40 Taxifahrten, 434 Wiener Linien Fahrscheine und 261 ÖBB-Tickets. Knapp achtzig Mal wurde ein car2go Auto über die smile App reserviert.

Positives Feedback von smile PilotuserInnen:
„Gefällt mir sehr gut dass die letzten, häufigsten Stationen angezeigt werden :)“
„hallo liebes team! das app smile ist wirklich topp.“
„Ich verwende immer mehr Funktionen der App und bin begeistert.“
„Großartige App! Die Berechnung der ersten Route finde ich toll. Die Gegenüberstellung der einzelnen Werte ist echt gelungen. Zwei Daumen nach oben!“
„die Anzeige auch von längeren Fußwegen finde ich vor allem bei schönem Wetter toll“
„Farben der Balken: zu Fuß grün, Taxi gelb gefällt mir besonders gut“
„Super APP! Danke“
„Finde die app bis jetzt sehr gut.“
„Funktioniert bei laufenden Planungen sehr gut.“
„Zeitticket kaufen, schnell und unkompliziert Über zwei Klicks ohne erst eine Route zu suchen“
„Tickets funktioniert sehr gut und auch die Anmeldungen“
„Hervorragende Arbeit, sehr gute App, Hut ab“

Fakten zum Pilotbetrieb
Über 1200 externe Anmeldungen
Über 1000 freigeschaltene PilotuserInnen
Über 600 Downloads im PlayStore
Bewertung 4,79/5 im PlayStore
Über 450 Anfragen im Customer Care

 

Die Ergebnisse der
PilotuserInnen-Befragung

Das Wichtigste vorweg: Durch smile wird die Nutzung von Sharing-Angeboten und Elektromobilität erhöht und die Nutzung des Privat-Pkws verringert. Und 75% der befragten PilotuserInnen sind sehr zufrieden bzw. zufrieden mit der App.

Die Auswertung des Pilotbetriebs war ein wesentlicher Teil des Forschungsprojektes. Dazu wurde im Frühjahr 2015 eine Online-Umfrage vom Institut für Verkehrswissenschaften der Technischen Universität Wien durchgeführt. Rund 17% der PilotuserInnen beteiligten sich an der Umfrage, eine ausreichend repräsentative Stichprobe.

Der Großteil der smile PilotuserInnen sind männlich (78%), aus Wien (81%), zwischen 20 und 40 Jahre alt (51%) und haben einen Uni- oder FH-Abschluss (53%). Damit sind die PilotuserInnen nicht repräsentativ für die Wiener Bevölkerung, aber sie entsprechen der Gender- und Altersverteilung für „early adopters“ in diesem Bereich.

Verkehrsmittelbesitz und -nutzung
77% der Befragten besitzen ein Fahrrad, 59% einen Privat-Pkw, 7% ein E-Bike bzw. Pedelec und 2% ein Elektroauto. Sehr hoch ist der Anteil des Besitzes von Jahreskarten der Wiener Linien (84%) und von Ermäßigungskarten der ÖBB (49%).

Die smile PilotuserInnen nutzen den öffentlichen Verkehr intensiv (86% täglich bis mehrmals wöchentlich). 30% nutzen den Pkw täglich bis mehrmals wöchentlich als FahrerIn, 27% das Fahrrad. 51% der Befragten nutzen außerdem regelmäßig Carsharing (v.a. Car2go, zipcar und Drive Now) und Bikesharing-Angebote (v.a. 34% City-Bike Wien).

Nutzung von smile
Während des Pilotbetriebs nutzten 6% der Befragten smile täglich, 30% mehrmals wöchentlich. Dabei wurde smile vor allem für private Erledigungen (64%), Freizeitwege (59%) und auf Wegen ohne die bekannten Verkehrsbetriebe (45%) verwendet.

Bei der Auswahl der Verkehrsmittel in smile mithilfe von Filtern lassen sich die PilotuserInnen bevorzugt den öffentlichen Verkehr (z.B. 80% U-Bahn, 77% Straßenbahn) anzeigen. Auch Carsharing- (21% Carsharing, 7% E-Carsharing) und Bikesharing-Angebote (10% Bikesharing, 5% E-Bikesharing) sind von großem Interesse.

Verstärkte Intermodalität durch smile
smile fördert das intermodale Mobilitätsverhalten der PilotuserInnen: 26% der Befragten gaben an, seit der Nutzung von smile häufiger Pkw mit dem öffentlichen Verkehr zu kombinieren, 20% Fahrrad mit Öffis. Besonders Leihfahrrad (68%) und Privat-Fahrrad (53%) wurden verstärkt mit dem ÖV kombiniert, gefolgt von Privat-Pkw (51%), Carsharing-Pkws (49%), Taxis (35%), e-Carsharing (8%) und e-Bikesharing (5%).

Der Hauptgrund für eine häufigere Kombination von Pkw bzw. Rad mit dem öffentlichen Verkehr liegt in schnelleren Alternativen, die von smile vorgeschlagen werden (69% bzw. 74%).

Veränderungen in der Verkehrsmittelwahl durch smile
Die Nutzung von smile hat während des Pilotbetriebs zu einer Veränderung der Verkehrsmittelwahl der Befragten geführt. Insgesamt 48% der Befragten gaben an, seit der Nutzung von smile häufiger den öffentlichen Verkehr zu nutzen (26% städtischer ÖV, 22% regionalen ÖV). 10% nutzen häufiger Bikesharing-Angebote, 4% häufiger E-Carsharing-Angebote und weitere 4% nutzen durch smile häufiger ihr E-Bike/Pedelec. 21% der befragten PilotuserInnen gaben an, ihren privaten Pkw seltener zu verwenden.

Durch eine Mobilitätsplattform wie smile wird also die Nutzung von Sharing-Angeboten und Elektromobilität erhöht und die Nutzung des Privat-Pkws verringert.

Alternative Routen
Über zwei Drittel der befragten PilotuserInnen haben durch die von smile vorgeschlagenen Routen neue Wege ausprobiert, um von A nach B zu kommen. Am häufigsten waren das andere Verkehrsmittel (47%) oder Verkehrsmittelkombinationen (24%). 37% haben effizientere, 21% attraktivere und 17% umweltfreundlichere Wege genutzt.

Damit zeigt sich, dass eine Mobilitätsplattform wie smile wesentlich dazu beitragen kann, eingefahrene Mobilitätsmuster zu durchbrechen und Alternativen auszuprobieren.